You are here

Invitation: State of World Population Report Launch Events

Join UNFPA APRO's series of special events (June 30, July 7, July 14) to mark the launch of our global flagship State of World Population Report 2020!

We'll be broadcasting live on Facebook and YouTube:
https://www.facebook.com/UNFPAAsiaPacific
https://www.youtube.com/UNFPAAsia

Against My Will: Defying practices that harm women and girls and undermine equality

The report focuses primarily on child marriage, female genital mutilation and gender-biased sex selection - three prominent harmful practices that devastate millions of girls and women globally.

The report is all the more timely amid COVID-19, as UNFPA estimates reveal the pandemic is disrupting efforts to end harmful practices.

Our discussions will feature globally renowned experts along with activists fighting to end these harms.

- Tuesday, June 30, 3pm Bangkok (9am London / 10am Geneva / 5pm Tokyo / 6pm Sydney) : SWOP Report overview presented by UNFPA Regional Director Bjorn Andersson and Too Young to Wed: Ending child marriage in Asia and the Pacific.

Panellists: Mary John, Centre for Women's Development Studies, India; Noreen Khan, UNICEF Bangladesh; Rachel Yates, Girls Not Brides

- Tuesday, July 7, 10am Bangkok (930am Delhi / 11am Beijing / 12pm Tokyo / 1pm Sydney) : No More Missing Girls and Women: Addressing the scourge of son preference and gender-biased sex selection

Panellists: Li Shuzhuo, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China; Ravinder Kaur, Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi; Khuat Thu Hong, Institute of Development Studies, Hanoi, Viet Nam

- Tuesday, July 14, 3pm Bangkok (9am London / 10am Geneva / 115pm Kathmandu / 5pm Tokyo / 6pm Sydney): The World We Want: Young people tackle harmful practices to carve out a better future

Panellists: Rachana Sunar, Nepal; Sara Naseem, Maldives; Kalis Mardi Asih, Indonesia

#SWOP2020 #AgainstMyWill

DOCUMENTS

  • Against My Will: UNFPA State of World Population 2020 Report